Award Winning Natural Soap
& Soap Making Courses

Reviews

Reviews for my Live Online Soap Making Course


Geraldine – August 2020 – Five Star Rating

Enjoyable morning spent online learning about the history and science of soap making but most of all practical experience of making soap. Two batches. Great recipe and a wealth of tips for our own soap making adventures. Now feel confident to try safely on my own. Many Thanks Ruth

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you Geraldine. I am so pleased you enjoyed our session and great that you are now feeling confident to go forth and create soap! :)

 

Yasmin Akhtar – July 2020 – Five Star Rating

Thoroughly enjoyable and informative lesson. I’ve always wanted to make soap but not many opportunities to learn in Birmingham, so opted for online instead. Very pleased that I did though. Managed to make two batches of soap with guidance. My biggest worry was the soap calculation but Ruth had a fantastic recommended resource to suggest and teach about. My internet kept switching off but again, Ruth was patient and helped me reconnect. Worth every minute, especially during lockdown. Very grateful for a bit of therapeutic learning. Thank you

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Yasmin. I am so pleased that you enjoyed my workshop and also great to hear that you found it therapeutic. Soap making is the perfect 'escape' from our hectic world!

 

Sally Clifton – July 2020 – Five Star Rating

I did this course online this morning and can’t praise Ruth highly enough! I’m very glad I took this route to learn how to make soap rather than trying to do it from a book or YouTube, as I found it really helpful to have Ruth actually present to guide us through any pitfalls. After a brief history of soap-making, Ruth spent quality time explaining the ingredients and how and why each is used which I found really useful. She then made a batch of soap in front of us which was great as I really got the idea of what to do, rather than trying to flounder along and do it alongside her. We then got to make two batches for ourselves and were able to customise these as we wished, as she talked us through anything extra we wanted to add. The quantities in the kit supplied were more than generous and having Ruth there while we made our batches meant anything looking not quite as it should was easily explained and put right. Ruth was really generous with information and happy to answer all and any questions we had. I now have two completely different, beautiful batches of soap and my house smells amazing. This course was well organised, interesting and great fun to do. I am a total beginner with no previous attempts at this and would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in soap-making.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review and recommendation Sally. It was lovely to meet you. Enjoy your lovely batches of soap! :)

 

Dawn Findlay Shaw – July 2020 – Four Star Rating

I enjoyed the course and it was fine doing it online. I found it especially useful for the more hands-on questions and concerns I had, the ones that aren't always addressed in books. Also, for the little nuggets of advice and information.

Thank you Ruth, for giving me more confidence to progress.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Dawn. I'm so pleased you enjoyed my course and glad to hear you have more confidence to progress! :)

 

Anne – July 2020 – Five Star Rating

Such a wonderful few hours! A huge amount of information is given out and questions happily answered. The kit of ingredients sent out beforehand arrived in plenty of time and is a generous amount - and enormous fun to use when it came to the making part!

Being presented online was a huge benefit - it's as if Ruth is with you in the kitchen as you make your soap - and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the course to everybody, if you have the chance, don't hesitate!

Ruth was incredibly generous with information shared and I am so happy I was able to join this class. Thank you so very much!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Anne. I am so pleased that you enjoyed learning to make soap from a distance! :)

 

Debbie Sewter – July 2020 – Five Star Rating

I really, really enjoyed this course. Ruth is an excellent tutor and her knowledge is phenomenal. I've enjoyed making the soap and will go on to make more. I would thoroughly recommend this course to anyone who is wanting to make their own soap, be it for business or personal use. Thank you.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Debbie. I am so pleased that you enjoyed my course and I hope you enjoy your new craft :)

 

Julie Andrews – June 2020 – Five Star Rating

I thought the online course was excellent. Ruth gave a brief history of soap making. The main key ingredients were provided. The course was extremely informative. Thanks again Ruth.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your feedback Julie. It was lovely to make soap with you and I hope you enjoy the delicious soaps you made! :)

  

Sam Farr – June 2020 – Five Star Rating

This course is informative and Ruth is very knowledgeable. There was plenty of opportunity to make the soap and I really enjoyed it. Thanks Sam

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Sam. I am so pleased that you enjoyed my soap making course - it was great to make soap together :)

 

Katie – June 2020 – Five Star Rating

Thank you Ruth for a fantastic soap making course! Online course worked well, didn’t feel like I was alone in my kitchen. Great experience I would highly recommend.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Katie. It was lovely to see you again. Enjoy your soap making :)

 

Glemz – May 2020 – Five Star Rating

I really enjoyed how interactive the course was. Ruth was a great source of information and encouragement and clearly knows her stuff! I highly recommend this course if you're interested in soap making.

Thanks Ruth!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Glemz. It was great to make soap with you and I hope you enjoy your creations - they looked fab! :)

 

Michelle – May 2020 – Five Star Rating

This is an excellent course. An equipment list is provided a few weeks prior to the course along with a kit in the post. The soap calculator was explained. The workshop gave me confidence to prepare my own soap.

My only suggestion would be another camera looking at Ruth’s table from overhead as well as front facing so we can see the production side.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review and suggestion Michelle. This is really helpful and something I am looking into. Enjoy your new craft! :)

 

Sally-Anne – May 2020 – Five Star Rating

I had been looking at doing a course with Ruth Romano for a while, so when I saw the on-line course, I signed up immediately. A fantastic days virtual course. Ruth sent me an email with all that I needed to gather and then the ingredients arrived in the post a few days prior to the course. 

The day was informative and fun. I feel really confident using lye and understand the whole process. 

I would highly recommend this course. Thank you Ruth for an excellent day. I cant wait to use my soap that looks and smells amazing and its all natural. Fantastic.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Sally-Anne. It was lovely to meet you and your soaps looked gorgeous - enjoy! :)

 

Yvonne – May 2020 – Five Star Rating

Fantastic session! The ingredient pack arrived in plenty of time, Ruth made me feel at ease from the start. She gave easy to understand, step by step and clear instruction to assist learning at everyones individual pace. The session was an excellent combination and balance of practical and theoretical information. Lots of clear guidance on things like using a soap cal, plenty of hints and tips for ongoing experimentation and all questions answered informatively. The most important thing for me was to have a clear understanding and confidence around using the dreaded Lye, which was achieved and the fear has now gone with the session covering safety aspects of this. Definitely worth the fee, would highly recommend and book other courses with Ruth. Thank you for an enjoyable online session :)

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much Yvonne. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed my course. It was a pleasure to meet and make soap with you! :)

 

Jan Hebblethwaite – May 2020 – Five Star Rating

I am a complete newbie to soap making. I really enjoyed this course and am inspired to make more soap and experiment! The course content is a good balance between chemistry, history and practical, hands on work. I was slightly apprehensive about the lye/caustic content, but Ruth explained the process so well that it was easy and safe to use. 

The online set up worked really well too - it was as if Ruth and the other student were in my kitchen!

Highly recommended.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Jan - I am so pleased that you enjoyed my course. Enjoy making soap :)

 

Reviews for my Soap Making Course (classroom based) 


Emily – July 2020 – Five Star Rating

This course was a gift with no previous knowledge of soap making. It seemed like a complex process at first, but I really enjoyed the day and feel confident to continue practising at home.

Would definitely recommend this course if you are looking to learn a new skill. I can’t wait to try this out. Thank you

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for recommending my course Emily. I am glad you enjoyed the day :)

 

Sue Taylor – July 2020 – Five Star Rating

I had to travel a long way, but it was definitely worth the effort.

Ruth puts you at ease and her explanation of the soap making process makes it really easy. It has given me the confidence to put it into practice and maybe start a new business.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Sue. I am so pleased to hear that it was worth your journey. It was great to chat about fragrances and I hope to get back to Grasse again soon! :)

 

Sally – July 2020 – Five Star Rating

I had been really looking forward to this course and it did not disappoint. From start to finish it was well organised, informative with plenty of guidance throughout. Would definitely recommend.

Thank you again Ruth for an enjoyable day :-)

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Sally I am so pleased you enjoyed the day :)


Mandy Webb – February 2020 – Five Star Rating

I thoroughly enjoyed this course with Ruth and the other soap-making enthusiasts on the day!

It was a very detailed and instructive day and having the practical soap making really does make you feel more confident in handling the lye and other ingredients.

I made lots of notes so I'm excited about buying the equipment and making my first batch of soap very soon. I look forward to joining Ruth again on the business course to complete my training.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Mandy. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the day and it's great to hear that you are now more confident. I will look forward to seeing you again!


Jaye Cope – February 2020 – Five Star Rating

Prior to this course, I had never made cold process soap before and the thought of using lye without any guidance was a bit daunting, so I decided to book this course to build my confidence.

We began the day with some history of soap making, a demonstration, followed by two practical sessions, all of which were well thought out, engaging and informative and Ruth delivered them seamlessly.

Throughout the practical we were given clear instructions and recipes to follow and Ruth was on hand to answer any queries of questions, should they arise!

I thoroughly enjoyed the day and have put my new skills to the test by producing my first batch of CP Soap at home....Yippee!!

I would like to say a big thank you to Ruth, this course not only gave me the confidence to start my own soapy journey it has also inspired me to look at other natural, homemade products- I'm looking forward to the Natural Skincare Course course this summer!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Jaye. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day and I am so excited to hear that you have made your first batch of soap already - well done! I will look forward to seeing you again soon :)


Rowan – February 2020 – Five Star Rating

I suffer from very sensitive skin, so had been looking into making my own natural soap for a while but always felt confused when looking at techniques or recipes online. This course explained the process in a really straightforward and engaging way and gave me the confidence to go home and try it out myself. Ruth was really friendly and approachable and it's clear she has a real passion for her craft. I also liked how she recommended equipment to purchase and suggested affordable alternatives to some of the products you see online.

Thanks Ruth for a really fun and interesting day!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Rowan. I am really pleased you are now confident to go forth and create your own soap - enjoy making soap!

 

Caroline Broughton – February 2020 – Five Star Rating

thoroughly enjoyed this course, it was a Christmas present to myself and a much needed day of me time. Left feeling very inspired, keen to get started making beautiful natural products to share with friends, then consider selling if successful! Looking forward to another course of body butters etc soon. Instructions clearly given, great hands on help and advice, loads of goodies to take home all on a friendly relaxed environment. Would recommend to all, thank you!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much for your recommendation Caroline. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your present! :)

 

Emma Farragher – February 2020 – Five Star Rating

I had an amazing day with Ruth learning how to make soap, Ruth is knowledgable and shares her wisdom freely. I was a bit intimidated beforehand at the thought of maths and chemistry but Ruth explains the whole process in such an easy way and it’s great fun making your own combinations. Thank you for such a wonderful day!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Emma. I am so pleased that you enjoyed it - have fun making more soap!

 

Kim – January 2020 – Five Star Rating

Just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed your cold process soap class on Saturday! I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait to have a go at home now. I met a lovely bunch of ladies and hopefully I may see them again on some other courses in the near future. Happy "soaping" everyone. Thanks again Ruth! Much appreciated. x

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much Kim. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day! :)

 

Alison – January 2020 – Five Star Rating

Very enjoyable course, was great to have the opportunity to do 2 soap batches and ask lots of questions. Excellent course and good location - walking distance from train station. Thank you Ruth

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Alison, I am really pleased you enjoyed the day!


Nicola Tratalos – January 2020 – Five Star Rating

What a lovely day! Ruth was really clear in explaining the process - which is quite scientific really - and brought a very practical and achievable feel to the whole day. We teamed up in pairs and made 2 batches of soap/shampoo bars each. This hands on approach made me feel that I really understand the process and I am very keen to have a go at home now! Great equipment, lovely ideas for soaps and a really useful handout which I will be using soon for my first solo attempt! The takeaway box was also great, even down to the very thoughtful touch of providing us with the box itself, and I am really looking forward to using the soaps we made.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you Nicola - enjoy your takeaway soap selection! :)

 

Paula Lo – January 2020 – Five Star Rating

The course was great and fun.

It started with the theory part and then the practical sessions,

Ruth demonstrated and explained each step very clearly and it's easy to remember.

It's a very good course for a beginner like me who has never made soap before, nor have any knowledge about it.

We can also bring our fresh made soap home after the course which makes the day it even better!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Paula I am glad you had fun!

 

Jane – January 2020 Five Star Rating

Well-paced course. After a little bit of theory, we all had an opportunity to make a variety of soaps and shampoo bars, which were shared out at the end so we everyone took home one of each type. I can't wait for the soap to cure, so I can try it.

Ruth explained and demonstrated the process very well and we received a step-by-step handout so we can make our own soap.

The location in Wilmslow is good, easy to find, with limited on-site parking but public parking is within easy walking distance.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Jane. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day!