Award Winning Natural Soap
& Soap Making Courses

Reviews

Tiffany Mowat (online soap making course) November 2020 - Excellent

I was anxious committing myself to this course as I was not using my own kitchen and only an old iPhone for the online session. I had a lovely morning learning soap making, the house smelt amazing and my soaps a success. Ruth is passionate, informative, patient and quickly helped me calculate and advise a substitute for an oil I was short on. I look forward to using my new skill when I get back to Africa. Thank you Ruth

Response from Ruth Romano:

I am so pleased that you enjoyed my soap making course. Thanks for your recommendation Tiffany!


Cheryl Degg (online soap making course) November 2020 - Excellent

Highly recommend the soap making course it has been fantastic, have learnt lots and gone through the whole process of soap making from start to finish as well as learning tips to carry on with. It has been made so easy to follow and can’t wait to try more experimenting and recipes now. Thankyou Ruth x

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Cheryl. Have fun experimenting :) x

 

Sally-Ann (online soap making course) November 2020 - Excellent

I really enjoyed taking part in Ruth's soapmaking course. Ruth is extremely knowledgeable and explains all of the details so well. We got to make 2 batches of soap, which was so my fun and nowhere near as scary as I thought it might be. My confidence grew massively while making the second batch. I feel an addiction coming on! Thank you Ruth for sharing your wonderful knowledge.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for joining me today Sally-Ann. I am so pleased to hear that your confidence has grown. Enjoy your new addiction :)


Ann (soap and cosmetics business course) November 2020 - Excellent

I recently attended the business course and as I expected from past experiences at Ruth's hands - it was a perfect blend of professionalism and fun. The course was online and there were plenty of interactive well thought out exercises to do to consolidate the learning. Q&A session at the end was really helpful. Thank you Ruth. :)

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Ann it was lovely to see you again. Best of luck with your plans! :)

 

Lisa Kelsall (online soap making course) November 2020 - Excellent

I thoroughly enjoyed the recent soap making course i attended online. The course was relaxed and we were able to ask questions as we went along. Ruth is extremely knowledgeable and i would highly recommend the course to anyone.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Lisa. It was great to make soap with you recently! :)

 

Sarah Louise Carswell (soap and cosmetics business course) November 2020 - Excellent

Another amazing course. Thankyou Ruth. I feel confident and inspired to start my cosmetic business. Ruth is an excellent teacher and the content of this course was so informative. Definitely worth the investment. Highly recommend!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Sarah. Best of luck with your plans!

 

Fiona Nottingham (soap and cosmetics business course) November 2020 – Excellent

I have attended 2 of Ruth’s courses. Soap making and her Business course . The business course was run online thanks to lockdown. I loved both courses. The Suso making was extremely hands on which was great. We all left with new found knowledge & lots of soaps. I then decided to do the business course. Well organised & structured appropriately. Lots of useful information and plenty of time for asking questions. Overall I would highly recommend Ruth and the courses. Thank you

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for joining my online course Fiona. It was great to see you again!

 

Sarah Louise Carswell (online soap making course) November 2020 - Excellent

I loved this course. Ruth was a great teacher! Many thanks. Would highly recommend.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for joining my online soap making course Sarah. I am so glad you enjoyed it!

 

Louise (soap making course) October 2020 - Excellent

I completed Ruth’s class on 26th October, it was so professional, I feel really confident to make my own soap now, we brought home such lovely soap, classes small so very personal, lots of opportunity to ask questions, Ruth was so lovely, an amazing experience!!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks so much for your review Louise. It was great to meet you and I am very pleased that you feel confident to make your own soap now - have fun! :)

 

Anne (online soap making course) October 2020 – Great

I thoroughly enjoyed the online soap making course. The course ran from 10am to 1pm and we made 2 batches of soap. Logging on was strait forward. Ruth was always available for questions and the information and guidance was very good. Don’t forget to prepare some herbs, flowers, seeds etc in advance to decorate your soaps, I forgot but raided the pantry for star anise, oats and seeds. Thanks for a great course.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much Anne. It was great to meet you and I am so glad you enjoyed it!


Rhiannon (online soap making course) October 2020 - Excellent

I attended Ruth's online soap making course. Despite some technical issues my end, Ruth was patient and caught me up with the rest of the class when my IT issues were resolved. She was able to answer questions as we went along and demonstrated a vast wealth of knowledge about soap making. We made two different soaps during the lesson. I have unmoulded them today and they look and smell amazing! I'm looking forward to applying the knowledge gained from this class and experimenting with different soap recipes. I would not hesitate to recommend this course to anyone. Thank you Ruth! Hope to join you again in your other courses

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks so much for your recommendation Rhiannon. I will look forward to seeing you again! :)


Kim Piercey (online soap making course) October 2020 - Excellent

I have just completed my first live online course with Ruth and it was so rewarding. Ruth is extremely knowledgeable, patient and clearly passionate about soap making. We were never made to feel under pressure to complete the tasks we were given, which made it such a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Thank you, Ruth, for inspiring me (I'm already thinking about my first solo project!).

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your amazing review Kim. It is so great to hear that you are inspired and I am really pleased that you are already thinking about your first solo project! All the best :)

 

Paula Gornall (soap making course) October 2020 - Excellent

I thoroughly enjoyed my day learning the craft of soap making. Ruth was knowledgeable and you could tell she had a deep passion for the soaps. I came away eager to start my own project. The course was delivered with confidence and well worth the cost. As an added benefit came away with a box of creations made by all fellow course members of the day.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much Paula. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day. Enjoy your soap selection box! :)

 

Lyndy Ackerley (soap making course) October 2020 - Excellent

I enjoyed every minute of this course. Ruth is knowledgeable, skilled and patient. I came away with an exciting new skill that I can't wait to try out. Would highly recommend.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks so much for your recommendation Lyndy - enjoy your new skill! :)

 

Sophie (soap making course) October 2020 - Excellent

I loved this day! Ruth’s passion for soapmaking is infectious and I feel like I’ve caught the bug now! It was very empowering to be successfully making soaps and amazing to come away with such a beautiful box. I’ve always wanted to make cold process soap but felt unprepared and trepidatious, this session demystified the process and equipped me with the knowledge and skills to make some by myself. Loved the history lesson and learning about the qualities of the oils too. Thanks a million!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much Sophie. I am so pleased to hear that you have caught the soap making bug :) beware it is very addictive. Enjoy your selection box!

 

Stephanie (soap making course) October 2020 - Excellent

I attended the beginner soap making course. I thoroughly enjoyed the day and would recommend for anyone interested in learning about soap. Small group, plenty of individual attention and opportunity to ask questions.

Response from Ruth Romano:

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day Stephanie and thanks very much for your recommendation :)

 

Renata (soap and cosmetics business course) October 2020 - Excellent

I had a One to One Soap and Cosmetics Business Course with Ruth because I am starting my own cosmetic business and I found this course excellent and really packed with information which are invaluable for me as a beginner. Ruth was very professional and explained everything in great details and answered all my questions. I highly recommend this course for everyone who wants to take this journey into business.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much for your recommendation Renata. It was lovely to see you again and I wish you the very best of luck on your journey! :)

 

Hetty (soap making course) October 2020 - Great

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our day learning to make soap, Ruth's tuition was excellent. The course is very relaxed and we learnt lots in one day. Ruth was very organised and particularly at the present time we felt that she had thought of everything. We are looking forward to making more soap at home. Thank you Hetty & Georgie

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much for your review ladies. You made a great team and the soaps you made were gorgeous. I hope you continue to enjoy making lots of lovely soap together! :)

 

Lyndy (soap making course) October 2020 - Excellent

I enjoyed every minute of this course. Ruth is knowledgeable, skilled and patient. I came away with an exciting new skill that I can't wait to try out. Would highly recommend.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks so much for your recommendation Lyndy - enjoy your new skill! :)

 

Sam (soap and cosmetics business course) September 2020 - Excellent

I found the business course absolutely packed full of information and It has given me a really good start in my journey to running my own skincare business. There were key areas that I did not know about so this has given me lots to do but also the best start to getting my little business up and running. Would really recommend and Ruth is fab.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Sam. It's great to hear that I have given you the best start. All the best with your plans! :)

 

Sharon (soap making course) September 2020 - Excellent

Highly recommended very informative will be booking on more courses

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you for your recommendation Sharon. I am so pleased that you were able to join me and I will look forward to seeing you again! :)

 

Yvonne (online) – September 2020 – Excellent

I have attended 2 online soap making courses with Ruth. They have both been absolutely fantastic. I would highly recommend Ruth’s classes to everyone who has an interest in making soap and the business class. Ruth is extremely friendly, organised, knowledgeable and approachable. She takes time to explain each step clearly and at an appropriate level and pace.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Yvonne. It was lovely to meet you and hear about your plans. Wishing you the best of luck! :)

 

Feray (soap making course) – September 2020 – Excellent

It was a great session and I loved it. Ruth makes everything very easy and very knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend the course to anyone who would like to experience the wonderful world of soap making . Really hoping to do some other session again to learn something new in near future . Thank you xx

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you Feray. I am so glad that you enjoyed my soap making class. It would be lovely to see you again in the future. Best Wishes Ruth :) x

 

Izabela (soap making course) – September 2020 – Excellent

I would highly recommend Ruth’s classes to everyone who has an interest in making soap. I have truly enjoy the course. Ruth is very knowledgeable and passionate about it. The course was a fun and relatively easy to follow. Thank you Ruth for a wonderful time.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Izabela. It was lovely to meet you and I am really pleased that you enjoyed my soap making course. Have fun making soap :)

 

Verna (soap making course) – September 2020 – Excellent

Thank you for a really enjoyable soap making course Ruth. You were very supportive as an instructor and the course was well designed with a mix of theory and the opportunity to practice what we had been taught. My car smelt lovely on the way home and I can’t wait to find some time to practice again. Best wishes Verna

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you Verna. I am so pleased you enjoyed the day! :)

 

Kay (one to one) – September 2020 - Excellent

Had a great 1:1 session with Ruth this week. I’m new to the soap/skincare industry and I really felt I was equipped with the right knowledge and skills by the end of the session. Ruth is a fantastic teacher and provides a lot of detail and clear explanations throughout. I found the session both interesting and fun! I’ll definitely be taking more of her lessons later on.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks so much for your review Kay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our session. It was lovely to meet you and chat about our love of all things natural! I will look forward to seeing you again :)

 

Katherine Atkin (soap making course) – September 2020 – Great

Attended Ruth’s soap making course in August and found the day really informative and enjoyable. It was a mainly practical day, mastering the basics of soap making. Everyone made different scented soaps and shampoo bars and they were shared out at the end of the session so I was happy to bring home over 20 soaps from the day. Really looking forward to trying them after they have cured.

The session was relaxing, and in the current covid situation it felt safe and adequately socially distanced. Everyone was supplied with their own equipment so no need to share. The only improvement here would be pre portioned oils and ingredients to avoid these being shared and passed around.

I certainly feel I understand enough about the basics of soap making after the day to start making at home which was the point in me doing the course. I'm looking forward to experimenting a little more with different bases.

Response from Ruth Romano

I am really pleased that you enjoyed my soap making course Katherine.

Thanks for your suggestion with regards to sharing some of the ingredients. Where possible the majority of the ingredients are split out but it is not practical with some ingredients such as the olive oil in 5 litre bottles. This also reduces plastic waste.

In addition, it is a requirement of my soap making course that all participants wear gloves which is a basic hygiene standard that has always been part of all my courses. This mitigates any risk from sharing the ingredients that are not possible to split. It is also a condition for my course registration that all participants undertake to use all the safety equipment provided - masks, goggles and to bring their own gloves and apron.

I hope you enjoy experimenting with different bases!

 

Donna Sreeves (soap and cosmetics business course) – September 2020 - Excellent

I attended Ruth's soap making and natural skincare courses earlier in the year and thoroughly enjoyed them so when I saw there was also a business course I didn't hesitate in booking a place. The course was extremely well structured and the group was small so there was plenty of opportunity to ask questions. Before I attended the course I didn't have any idea where to start finding out about all the regulations surrounding selling cosmetics but now I have a much clearer understanding and have the confidence to go forward with my ideas. I would highly recommend this course to anyone that is considering selling their soap or setting up a business.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Donna. It was great to see you again and the very best of luck with your plans going forward! :)

 

Verna Evans (soap making course) – September 2020 - Excellent

Thank you for a really enjoyable soap making course Ruth. You were very supportive as an instructor and the course was well designed with a mix of theory and the opportunity to practice what we had been taught. My car smelt lovely on the way home and I can’t wait to find some time to practice again

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you Verna. I am so pleased you enjoyed the day! :)

 

Donna (soap making course) – September 2020 – Excellent

I attended Ruth's Soap Making course on 17th August and would highly recommend it. The course was well organised and very informative. Ruth was very friendly and welcoming with good communication beforehand. I had no prior knowledge of soap making and doing this course has given me the confidence to make my own soap at home. There was plenty of parking at the venue, tea and coffee and light snacks were provided. I have already signed up for another course with Ruth. Many thanks.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Donna. It was lovely to meet you and I will look forward to seeing you again!

 

Debbie Soo (soap making course) –September 2020 – Excellent

Ruth’s soap making course was worth every penny! The course was very clear and she was a great teacher! She answered any queries we had regarding soap making and it was very insightful. I am looking forward to eventually doing her business course! Thank you for such a wonderful experience Ruth!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Debbie. It was lovely to meet you and I will look forward to meeting you again soon! :)

 

Emily (soap making course) – September 2020 – Excellent

Great day, learnt a lot and now have the confidence to try making my own soaps at home! Thank you Ruth! X

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Emily. It was lovely to meet you and I am glad you are now confident to make soap at home - enjoy! :) X

 

Amanda (soap making course) – September 2020 - Excellent

I attended Ruth's soap making workshop on 8th March and thoroughly enjoyed it. Because she limited the number of participants Ruth was able to help us as and when we needed help. It was so well organised and she provided everything we needed, including a printed handout of instructions. If you are wondering whether you should try one of Ruth's workshops I think you will love it. I learnt so much and now feel confident that I can continue making soaps at home without any help.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation. I am so pleased that you enjoyed my workshop. Have fun making soap at home :)

 

Lucy Davies – August 2020 - Excellent

I've now attended two courses with Ruth, and I highly recommend her. She's a fantastic teacher, she really knows her stuff, and she shares her expertise in a friendly and professional way. She breaks down the technical stuff in a simple and helpful style, and her enthusiasm for natural skincare shines through!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much for your recommendation Lucy. It was lovely to see you again and I am so pleased that you found my courses helpful :)

 

Kim (soap making course) – August 2020 - Excellent

Ruth was lovely and I really enjoyed her soap making course! It was the perfect mix of theory and practical aspects and after I finished I felt confident enough to be able to go and make my own soap at home. Thanks very much Ruth - would definitely recommend!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much for your recommendation Kim. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day! :)

 

Sarah Stokes (skincare course) – August 2020 – Excellent

Attending Ruth's skin care course was a lovely way to spend a Saturday. I met some inspiring people and found it really relaxing making my own products. It has given me the confidence to continue with home made, roll on Christmas, my friends can't wait!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks that's great to hear Sarah. It was lovely to meet you and I hope you enjoy making more natural skincare at home! :)

 

Alison Thompson (skincare course) – August 2020 – Excellent

Another great course with Ruth. Thank you so much! I have now done all three of Ruth's main courses and each one has been very enjoyable and I have learned loads. Ruth is very knowledgeable but teaches in an easy to follow way and make the learning fun! For complete beginners wanting to become a bit more creative through to those with a business idea Ruth's courses will put you on the right road.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Alison. It was lovely to see you again and I am so glad that you have enjoyed all my courses! Take care :)

 

Pippa (soap making course) – August 2020 – Excellent

If you want to learn how to make the real thing then go on Ruth Romano's soap making course what I liked about the day was the ingredients used for the soaps were ethical and natural using essential oils and butters and oils that were a lovely mix! The course is very 'hands on' and gives you the confidence to really have a go and leave the day feeling you could 'make soap' I have been on many courses where I have done the learning and still not had confidence to do it we had lots on fun in the process doing it too! thanks Ruth, Pippa & Debra x

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much ladies it was lovely to meet you both. Have fun making more lovely natural soap :)

 

Nicole Hogg (soap and cosmetics business course) – August 2020 - Excellent

I can't recommend this course enough if you’re serious about making soap a business. Ruth makes the legal side of the soap business really understandable and fun!!!!! Thank you for a factual and fun day Ruth

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Nicole. I wish you the very best of luck with your fab plans

 

Emma (one to one) – August 2020 – Excellent

I've just completed Ruth's 'Cosmetic Business Course' and would recommend it to anyone before setting up. Broken down into user friendly sections it covered everything from jargon to the law. Lots of top tips to help you set off on the correct path on the right side of the law!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Emma and best of luck with your plans!

 

Sally Anne (online soap making course) – August 2020 – Excellent

During lockdown I did a virtual soap course with Ruth. It was an excellent day and I learnt so much about the process of making soap. I would highly recommend Ruth’s courses. Since then I have been making soap for family and friends. Great fun experimenting.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation. Enjoy experimenting! :)

 

Lesley Peak (soap and cosmetics business course) – August 2020 – Excellent

I really enjoyed this course. I have looked into the soap making business side of things myself and felt a bit overwhelmed by all the information. Ruth broke it all down well and I came away feeling much more positive with a complete understanding of the requirements involved. Thank you very much Ruth.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Lesley. I am so pleased to hear that you have a better understanding of the requirements now. Best of luck with your plans!

 

Geraldine (online soap making course) – August 2020 – Excellent

Enjoyable morning spent online learning about the history and science of soap making but most of all practical experience of making soap. Two batches. Great recipe and a wealth of tips for our own soap making adventures. Now feel confident to try safely on my own. Many Thanks Ruth

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you, Geraldine. I am so pleased you enjoyed our session and great that you are now feeling confident to go forth and create soap! :)

 

Katherine(soap and cosmetics business course) – August 2020 – Excellent

Really enjoyed the business course. Ruth is patient, friendly and happy to share her wealth of knowledge! Very informative and set at a lovely pace. I would highly recommend!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Glad you enjoyed my business course and thanks very much for your recommendation Katherine!

 

Cieran (online soap making course) – August 2020 – Excellent

Very patient and helped me reconnect. Thank you!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review!

 

Wendy (one to one) – August 2020 – Excellent

I am so glad I did the 1-2-1 business course with Ruth. Ruth made it interesting and gave me a wealth of information and resources to refer to after the course. It was relaxed and comfortable, made sense of a lot of the red tape and I feel it was money well spent.

I highly recommend this course if you are thinking of turning your hobby into a business. Thank you Ruth!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review and recommendation Wendy. Good luck with your plans!

 

Caroline (soap making course) – August 2020 – Excellent

I had a really enjoyable day on this course. I went on my own, but all the other participants were really friendly and Ruth is very welcoming and makes everybody feel completely at ease. Ruth was excellent. Her knowledge and passion for what she does is evident. The course is both educational and very enjoyable. I had a great day and would recommend it to anyone.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Caroline. It was lovely to meet you!

 

Sally Clifton (soap and cosmetics business course) – August 2020 – Excellent  

I took Ruth’s business course as a one to one, so I could crack on with making soap, knowing that it would conform to all the regulations demanded by the cosmetic industry. I can honestly say it was well worth every penny. Ruth has many tips when it comes to starting up a business as well as some really good advice on the pitfalls and how to avoid them. She was able to answer all my questions and sent further information to follow up on areas I was particularly interested in. For further support, there is also her Facebook group where I can also get advice from her and other members. The course was clear, interesting and easy to understand, with plenty of time for note-taking, discussion where needed and practical assignments so I was sure I would understand what I had to do. I have come away with many new ideas and the feeling that I now have a good support network should I need it. If you are thinking about taking the next step to sell your soap, I would highly recommend taking this course with Ruth first.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Sally. It was lovely to meet you again after you had attended my soap making course. I am so pleased to hear that you found my business course helpful and the very best of luck with your plans going forward!

 

Julie Sturrock (soap and cosmetics business course) – August 2020 – Excellent 

I was keen to do the business course and I decided to do the online version to save long car journeys. I wasn't sure how it would work online but it worked really well on the meeting link up site. Having the handouts before was great as it allowed me to go through what would be covered, what I had already read about & what areas I wanted to clarify. It was great having the opportunity to do this 1-1, face to face so to speak with someone who has done it all successfully. My marketing experience is extremely limited, so I found tips & guidance in this area really helpful. I look forward to the next step on my new adventure & now feel fully equipped. It's lovely to know I now also have access to Ruth's Facebook group which I'm sure I will need. I highly recommend the course.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Julie. It was lovely to meet you and all the best with your new adventure! :)

 

Jennifer Young (soap making course) – August 2020 – Excellent

I attended Ruth's soap making course with my daughter and we had a really enjoyable day learning a new skill and spending quality time together. I can recommend Ruth's course to anyone interested in learning the art of soap making.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Jennifer. I'm glad you both enjoyed the day - you made a great team! :)

 

Catherine January (soap making course) – August 2020 – Excellent

I attended Ruth’s soapmaking course and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn this wonderful craft. Ruth is a great teacher, calm, clear, organised and inspiring. I made enough gorgeous soap to last at least 6 months. The day itself is really easy going and enjoyable.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Catherine. I am glad you enjoyed the day - enjoy your soap selection! :)

 

Yasmin Akhtar (online soap making course) – July 2020 – Excellent

Thoroughly enjoyable and informative lesson. I’ve always wanted to make soap but not many opportunities to learn in Birmingham, so opted for online instead. Very pleased that I did though. Managed to make two batches of soap with guidance. My biggest worry was the soap calculation but Ruth had a fantastic recommended resource to suggest and teach about. My internet kept switching off but again, Ruth was patient and helped me reconnect. Worth every minute, especially during lockdown. Very grateful for a bit of therapeutic learning. Thank you

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Yasmin. I am so pleased that you enjoyed my workshop and also great to hear that you found it therapeutic. Soap making is the perfect 'escape' from our hectic world!

 

Sally Clifton (online soap making course) – July 2020 – Excellent

I did this course online this morning and can’t praise Ruth highly enough! I’m very glad I took this route to learn how to make soap rather than trying to do it from a book or YouTube, as I found it really helpful to have Ruth actually present to guide us through any pitfalls. After a brief history of soap-making, Ruth spent quality time explaining the ingredients and how and why each is used which I found really useful. She then made a batch of soap in front of us which was great as I really got the idea of what to do, rather than trying to flounder along and do it alongside her. We then got to make two batches for ourselves and were able to customise these as we wished, as she talked us through anything extra we wanted to add. The quantities in the kit supplied were more than generous and having Ruth there while we made our batches meant anything looking not quite as it should was easily explained and put right. Ruth was really generous with information and happy to answer all and any questions we had. I now have two completely different, beautiful batches of soap and my house smells amazing. This course was well organised, interesting and great fun to do. I am a total beginner with no previous attempts at this and would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in soap-making.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review and recommendation Sally. It was lovely to meet you. Enjoy your lovely batches of soap! :)

 

Yvonne (soap and cosmetics business course) – July 2020 – Excellent 

Well worth completing this course if you’re considering going into business. Very informative great hints and tips, understandable works well online. Thank you, Ruth.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Yvonne and Good Luck with your plans!

 

Sam Farr (soap and cosmetics business course) – July 2020 – Excellent 

A very well structured and informative course going into enough detail to give me confidence to embrace the next step of starting my own business journey.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you Sam and good luck on your business journey!

 

Dawn Findlay Shaw (online soap making course) – July 2020 – Excellent

I enjoyed the course and it was fine doing it online. I found it especially useful for the more hands-on questions and concerns I had, the ones that aren't always addressed in books. Also, for the little nuggets of advice and information.

Thank you Ruth, for giving me more confidence to progress.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Dawn. I'm so pleased you enjoyed my course and glad to hear you have more confidence to progress! :)

 

Mandy (soap making course) –July 2020 – Excellent

I thoroughly enjoyed this course with Ruth and the other soap-making enthusiasts on the day!

It was a very detailed and instructive day and having the practical soap making really does make you feel more confident in handling the lye and other ingredients.

I made lots of notes so I'm excited about buying the equipment and making my first batch of soap very soon. I look forward to joining Ruth again on the business course to complete my training.

I researched quite a bit before deciding on Ruth's course and I'm pleased I did. I highly recommend her course to anyone thinking of soap making.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Mandy. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the day and it's great to hear that you are now more confident. I will look forward to seeing you again!

 

Emily (soap making course) – July 2020 – Excellent

This course was a gift with no previous knowledge of soap making. It seemed like a complex process at first, but I really enjoyed the day and feel confident to continue practising at home.

Would definitely recommend this course if you are looking to learn a new skill. I can’t wait to try this out. Thank you

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for recommending my course Emily. I am glad you enjoyed the day :)

 

Sue Taylor (soap making course) – July 2020 – Excellent

I had to travel a long way, but it was definitely worth the effort.

Ruth puts you at ease and her explanation of the soap making process makes it really easy. It has given me the confidence to put it into practice and maybe start a new business.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Sue. I am so pleased to hear that it was worth your journey. It was great to chat about fragrances and I hope to get back to Grasse again soon! :)

 

Sally (soap making course) – July 2020 – Excellent

I had been really looking forward to this course and it did not disappoint. From start to finish it was well organised, informative with plenty of guidance throughout. Would definitely recommend.

Thank you again Ruth for an enjoyable day :-)

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Sally I am so pleased you enjoyed the day :)

 

Anne (online soap making course) – July 2020 – Excellent

Such a wonderful few hours! A huge amount of information is given out and questions happily answered. The kit of ingredients sent out beforehand arrived in plenty of time and is a generous amount - and enormous fun to use when it came to the making part!

Being presented online was a huge benefit - it's as if Ruth is with you in the kitchen as you make your soap - and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the course to everybody, if you have the chance, don't hesitate!

Ruth was incredibly generous with information shared and I am so happy I was able to join this class. Thank you so very much!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Anne. I am so pleased that you enjoyed learning to make soap from a distance! :)

 

Debbie Sewter (online soap making course) – July 2020 – Excellent

I really, really enjoyed this course. Ruth is an excellent tutor and her knowledge is phenomenal. I've enjoyed making the soap and will go on to make more. I would thoroughly recommend this course to anyone who is wanting to make their own soap, be it for business or personal use. Thank you.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Debbie. I am so pleased that you enjoyed my course and I hope you enjoy your new craft :)

 

Julie Andrews (online soap making course) – June 2020 – Excellent

I thought the online course was excellent. Ruth gave a brief history of soap making. The main key ingredients were provided. The course was extremely informative. Thanks again Ruth.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your feedback Julie. It was lovely to make soap with you and I hope you enjoy the delicious soaps you made! :)

 

Sam Farr (online soap making course) – June 2020 – Excellent

This course is informative and Ruth is very knowledgeable. There was plenty of opportunity to make the soap and I really enjoyed it. Thanks Sam

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Sam. I am so pleased that you enjoyed my soap making course - it was great to make soap together :)

 

Katie (online soap making course) – June 2020 – Excellent

Thank you Ruth for a fantastic soap making course! Online course worked well, didn’t feel like I was alone in my kitchen. Great experience I would highly recommend.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Katie. It was lovely to see you again. Enjoy your soap making :)

 

Glemz (online soap making course) – May 2020 – Excellent

I really enjoyed how interactive the course was. Ruth was a great source of information and encouragement and clearly knows her stuff! I highly recommend this course if you're interested in soap making. Thanks Ruth!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Glemz. It was great to make soap with you and I hope you enjoy your creations - they looked fab! :)

 

Michelle (online soap making course) – May 2020 – Excellent

This is an excellent course. An equipment list is provided a few weeks prior to the course along with a kit in the post. The soap calculator was explained. The workshop gave me confidence to prepare my own soap.

My only suggestion would be another camera looking at Ruth’s table from overhead as well as front facing so we can see the production side.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review and suggestion Michelle. This is really helpful and something I am looking into. Enjoy your new craft! :)

 

Sally-Anne (online soap making course) – May 2020 – Excellent

I had been looking at doing a course with Ruth Romano for a while, so when I saw the on-line course, I signed up immediately. A fantastic days virtual course. Ruth sent me an email with all that I needed to gather and then the ingredients arrived in the post a few days prior to the course.

The day was informative and fun. I feel really confident using lye and understand the whole process.

I would highly recommend this course. Thank you Ruth for an excellent day. I cant wait to use my soap that looks and smells amazing and its all natural. Fantastic.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Sally-Anne. It was lovely to meet you and your soaps looked gorgeous - enjoy! :)

 

Yvonne (online soap making course) – May 2020 – Excellent

Fantastic session! The ingredient pack arrived in plenty of time, Ruth made me feel at ease from the start. She gave easy to understand, step by step and clear instruction to assist learning at everyones individual pace. The session was an excellent combination and balance of practical and theoretical information. Lots of clear guidance on things like using a soap cal, plenty of hints and tips for ongoing experimentation and all questions answered informatively. The most important thing for me was to have a clear understanding and confidence around using the dreaded Lye, which was achieved and the fear has now gone with the session covering safety aspects of this. Definitely worth the fee, would highly recommend and book other courses with Ruth. Thank you for an enjoyable online session :)

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much Yvonne. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed my course. It was a pleasure to meet and make soap with you! :)

 

Jan Hebblethwaite (online soap making course) – May 2020 – Excellent

I am a complete newbie to soap making. I really enjoyed this course and am inspired to make more soap and experiment! The course content is a good balance between chemistry, history and practical, hands on work. I was slightly apprehensive about the lye/caustic content, but Ruth explained the process so well that it was easy and safe to use.

The online set up worked really well too - it was as if Ruth and the other student were in my kitchen!

Highly recommended.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Jan - I am so pleased that you enjoyed my course. Enjoy making soap :)

 

Alison (soap and cosmetics business course) – March 2020 – Excellent

Excellent course-very informative and lots of information-superbly delivered. Thank you Ruth

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for the feedback Alison and thanks for joining my online class. Good luck with your plans!

 

Roger (soap and cosmetics business course) – March 2020 – Excellent

Excellent business course on what you need to know and do about starting a successful hand made soap business. Ruth is very helpful and easy to talk to and has a lot of experience in making soap and running a business.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Roger. It was great to meet you and I wish you all the best with your plans going forward!

 

Mandy Webb (soap making course) – February 2020 – Excellent

I thoroughly enjoyed this course with Ruth and the other soap-making enthusiasts on the day!

It was a very detailed and instructive day and having the practical soap making really does make you feel more confident in handling the lye and other ingredients.

I made lots of notes so I'm excited about buying the equipment and making my first batch of soap very soon. I look forward to joining Ruth again on the business course to complete my training.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Mandy. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the day and it's great to hear that you are now more confident. I will look forward to seeing you again!

 

Jaye Cope (soap making course) – February 2020 – Excellent

Prior to this course, I had never made cold process soap before and the thought of using lye without any guidance was a bit daunting, so I decided to book this course to build my confidence.

We began the day with some history of soap making, a demonstration, followed by two practical sessions, all of which were well thought out, engaging and informative and Ruth delivered them seamlessly.

Throughout the practical we were given clear instructions and recipes to follow and Ruth was on hand to answer any queries of questions, should they arise!

I thoroughly enjoyed the day and have put my new skills to the test by producing my first batch of CP Soap at home....Yippee!!

I would like to say a big thank you to Ruth, this course not only gave me the confidence to start my own soapy journey it has also inspired me to look at other natural, homemade products- I'm looking forward to the Natural Skincare Course course this summer!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Jaye. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day and I am so excited to hear that you have made your first batch of soap already - well done! I will look forward to seeing you again soon :)

 

Rowan (soap making course) – February 2020 – Excellent

I suffer from very sensitive skin, so had been looking into making my own natural soap for a while but always felt confused when looking at techniques or recipes online. This course explained the process in a really straightforward and engaging way and gave me the confidence to go home and try it out myself. Ruth was really friendly and approachable and it's clear she has a real passion for her craft. I also liked how she recommended equipment to purchase and suggested affordable alternatives to some of the products you see online.

Thanks Ruth for a really fun and interesting day!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Rowan. I am really pleased you are now confident to go forth and create your own soap - enjoy making soap!

 

Caroline Broughton (soap making course) – February 2020 – Excellent

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, it was a Christmas present to myself and a much needed day of me time. Left feeling very inspired, keen to get started making beautiful natural products to share with friends, then consider selling if successful! Looking forward to another course of body butters etc soon. Instructions clearly given, great hands on help and advice, loads of goodies to take home all on a friendly relaxed environment. Would recommend to all, thank you!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much for your recommendation Caroline. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your present! :)

 

Emma Farragher (soap making course) – February 2020 – Excellent

I had an amazing day with Ruth learning how to make soap, Ruth is knowledgable and shares her wisdom freely. I was a bit intimidated beforehand at the thought of maths and chemistry but Ruth explains the whole process in such an easy way and it’s great fun making your own combinations. Thank you for such a wonderful day!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Emma. I am so pleased that you enjoyed it - have fun making more soap!

 

Helen (natural skincare course) – February 2020 – Excellent

Brilliant course! Really relaxed atmosphere and we made lots of lovely natural skincare products to take home. Ruth is very approachable and down to earth - plenty of opportunities to ask questions to further knowledge. A great way to spend a Saturday!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you Helen - I am so glad you enjoyed my course. Enjoy your products and have fun making more!

 

Violeta (natural skincare course) – February 2020 – Excellent

Absolutely great, I recommend this course to anyone. Good atmosphere and friendly group. I highly recommend. This is my second course, very professional and knowledgeable.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Violeta. It was lovely to see you again on Saturday!

 

Louis Mackay (natural skincare course) – February 2020 – Excellent

I learned a lot in a great atmosphere provided by Ruth. She handled the bombardment questions from a full class gracefully and professionally.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Louis. I am glad you enjoyed it!

 

Nathalie Dasse (natural skincare course) – February 2020 – Excellent

The course was great. Ruth was very patient and knowledgeable. I absolutely love the products we’ve made and already started using some.

I would definitely recommend this course to anyone that wants to learn about organic skincare.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your recommendation Nathalie - enjoy your products!

 

Kim (soap making course) – January 2020 – Excellent

Just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed your cold process soap class on Saturday! I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait to have a go at home now. I met a lovely bunch of ladies and hopefully I may see them again on some other courses in the near future. Happy "soaping" everyone. Thanks again Ruth! Much appreciated. x

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks very much Kim. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day! :)

 

Alison (soap making course) – January 2020 – Excellent

Very enjoyable course, was great to have the opportunity to do 2 soap batches and ask lots of questions. Excellent course and good location - walking distance from train station. Thank you Ruth

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks Alison, I am really pleased you enjoyed the day!

 

Nicola Tratalos (soap making course) – January 2020 – Excellent

What a lovely day! Ruth was really clear in explaining the process - which is quite scientific really - and brought a very practical and achievable feel to the whole day. We teamed up in pairs and made 2 batches of soap/shampoo bars each. This hands on approach made me feel that I really understand the process and I am very keen to have a go at home now! Great equipment, lovely ideas for soaps and a really useful handout which I will be using soon for my first solo attempt! The takeaway box was also great, even down to the very thoughtful touch of providing us with the box itself, and I am really looking forward to using the soaps we made.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thank you Nicola - enjoy your takeaway soap selection! :)

 

Paula Lo (soap making course) – January 2020 – Excellent

The course was great and fun.

It started with the theory part and then the practical sessions,

Ruth demonstrated and explained each step very clearly and it's easy to remember.

It's a very good course for a beginner like me who has never made soap before, nor have any knowledge about it.

We can also bring our fresh made soap home after the course which makes the day it even better!

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Paula I am glad you had fun!

 

Jane (soap making course) – January 2020 Excellent

Well-paced course. After a little bit of theory, we all had an opportunity to make a variety of soaps and shampoo bars, which were shared out at the end so we everyone took home one of each type. I can't wait for the soap to cure, so I can try it.

Ruth explained and demonstrated the process very well and we received a step-by-step handout so we can make our own soap.

The location in Wilmslow is good, easy to find, with limited on-site parking but public parking is within easy walking distance.

Response from Ruth Romano:

Thanks for your review Jane. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the day!